Time

Found Photography

This next experiment was literally using found photographs and simply analysing them to not just figure out their reasons of development but also comparing them in terms of the journey of still photographs, on further analysis the pictures reveal their own print qualities as some of the photos were captured back in the 1920s while the others were more advanced with their media technology, so visually the eras have changed throughout the years such as different lenses and construction styles as shown with the photograph of the bridge.

found-photographs

 

Filming

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This workshop was about experimenting with the Canon 5D movie making features, the movie I made with my colleague was a silent film so the camera angles and audio (that occasionally popped up in some scenes) were more essential than the acting by myself. we also added black and white to eerily tell the story of a stolen file or document with the thief being introduced rather anonymously. The idea was first set up on a storyboard with some rough sketches of the story and camera angles of subjects. The movie itself had some pretty interesting camera angles as me and my colleague spent most hours experimenting on them and the choice of clothing by myself represented the detective character very well. The audio in the film was from the video game soundtrack INSIDE which was something I referenced on my Beyond Photography research as an inspiration, there was also a sound effect I used from youtube of what sounded like paper being placed on a table which resembled the book being placed on a library desk.

The Film Storyboard 

screen-shot-2016-10-13-at-16-51-12

My Holiday Shot

During the summer, I and my father went for a visit to The Spitfire and Hurricane Memorial Museum in Manston for the first time since we both were interested in the war history. I came across a dioramic train set which represents the museums history. I decided to take a few photographs of the diorama as its beautiful colours that intrigued me. When looking at this picture, I wasn’t quite witnessing a general picturesque memory, but more of an image containing aspects associated with modelling, paintings and photography. Many medias were seen in this one image along with the real world reflecting off the diorama glass.

diarama

Time Lapse

With these two artists in mind along with my colleague, we grabbed a Canon 5D and filmed a time lapse. In this process I thought it would be extra experimental to photograph the panoramic view on the top floor of the university every 2 minutes. Once the time lapse was finished I thought about trying to use google maps as something that I would hope to add towards the development but I didn’t know what to do with the screenshot of the same area that was filmed.

Screenshot of the River Medway and Rochester Town via Google Maps satellite POV

screen-shot-2016-10-11-at-13-26-22

 

The first time lapse outside the top floor window view of UCA University Rochester 

screen-shot-2016-10-14-at-09-47-34

This black & white time lapse was made by other colleagues 

screen-shot-2016-10-14-at-09-48-51screen-shot-2016-10-14-at-09-48-15

This version was edited by some other colleagues, the work had a text in the beginning which was talking about something about time and the video was black and white while some calm audio was playing in the background.

 

Carl Warner 

I remember when I was a little kid picking up some broccoli during dinner imagining it was a tree as my mother would tell me not to play with my food. the artwork of Carl Warner has made food become a reality by collecting tons of food and creating landscapes much like the lighting and studio process of stop motion animated TV entertainment such as Wallace and Gromit in my point of view. I visited the Carl Warner website and watched a video about his projects with food and how he has experimented with them, much like movies he creates a drawing which he would show to his colleagues that would guide him in the studios when setting up the food as something I would see similarly as the diorama in the museum I visited.

http://carlwarner.com/about-artist/

Tuscan Landscape by Carl Warner 

carl-warner-tuscany-landscape

 

John Constable 

The legendary John Constable was well known for his romantic picturesque landscape paintings, when researching the time of painting I came across one of his countryside paintings Stanford Mill 1820, I really loved the warm colour scheme that creates that peaceful moment in time.

Stanford Mill John Constable 1820 

john_constable-stanford-mill-1820

With the interests of these two artists I decided to experiment with their work as pieces of found photography/art using Photoshop, Firstly I simply put John Constable’s image on top of Carl Warner’s image, secondly I tried adding a sound wave shape onto the image to represent the work as an image with a number of different medias or experimentations as I described my diorama photograph. Overall the image was rather messy but yet quite an interesting relationship, next I tried tidying up the image a little by merging the painting with the food which brought out a more creative colour scheme mixture. Lastly I erased the sound wave layer as it started to get too distracting for me so I then changed the position of the Constable painting to also merge with different subjects on the foodscape image such as the buildings in the distance.

dioramaandtime1
image 1
dioramaandtime2
image 2
dioramaandtime3
image 3
dioramaandtime4
image 4
dioramaandtime5
image 5

 

Black Magic Filming

The Black Magic was one of the most technical processes I had ever learned in the university, the set up would take a long time for anyone since the screws need to be in such a accurate position that even a touch of hair can effect the balance of the camera (not literally more like a slight bump), once the camera is perfectly balanced I and my colleagues could carry the camera around the premises, the camera was very heavy but was worth carrying around filming. the videos we filmed involved following someone while their surroundings go past them while the entire film is still since the filter is holding the camera in place of the portable tripod as I would describe it as a beginner.

Photos taken from iPhone 

 

Virtual and augmented reality

Since I had an exhibition to work on for next year, this workshop was about experimenting with instillation work by using the style of Virtual and Augmented reality that was about creating 360 degree photospheres and augmented reality images using free apps and online programs such as iPad, smartphone or a computer.  These simple programs can be used to create VR viewers and animated images similar to what is seen on photographs and paintings in the popular Harry Potter series regarding animated postcards.

360 degree photos

360 degree image created out of individual images as I turn myself at that angle 

img_1798

360 degree photo made by me just turning around at that angle 

img_1797

Leave a Reply

